Strongman 2- The tyre strikes back!!…

Strongman 2 The tyre strike back!! 
Today I returned for some more Strongman training! I’d like to share with you what I did, why I love it and what I think you can take from it either to add the practice into your own life or to apply principles that it teaches you…

Today we did tyre flips, farmer carries, grip training, log press and rope pulls. Firstly the tyre is alway intimidating. At 250kg, it weighs over 3x my body weight and the form is so important when lifting it; getting underneath it, staying close to it and driving up and forward all he way. Today I had a new training partner, Dan, and he did brilliantly. Having someone extra there is so helpful to keep you motivated, to drive you on and create an energy and a camaraderie between the group of us. 

What I love about strongman training is that there is no room for messing around, you can either lift the objects or you cannot

And because the objects are so heavy, form is so very important and that is a great tip for any kind of fitness training. A new exercise we did was the farmer carries. This involves picking up a large bar with handles and walking or jogging to a cone and back. It sounds simple, but it isn’t. Once we kept adding weight I realised that I was lifting kg in each hand which combined for 150jg, which is 50kg heavier than my usual deadlift! This exercise really challenged me and I began having to really use breathing control and focus, in order to get through it.

Next was grip training, where we simply picked up the bars and held them for as long as possible. This is just as much a mental challenge as a physical one. At the point where you feel you have to drop the weight, or can override that with your mind and your focus… up to a point! You know when you completely have to drop them, as they just go down and there is nothing you can do to stop them!

After that was the log press. For this, form is very important. This involves picking up a 40kg log with handles with a deadlift, then dropping down into a squat, rolling the log up your chest and eventually lifting it above your head! This one exercise combines a deadlift, a squat and a military press all in one and is a real challenge, and then we went and added extra weight on top of that.

The final exercise was by far the most challenging, but also one of the finest as it involved me and Dan working together

We loaded 60kg onto a plate attached to the end of a rope. We then stood at opposite ends of the rope. One of us pulled the weight towards us by pulling the rope all the way to our feet from full extension, then we would pick up the top and run to the opposite person and allow them to do the same. And we each did it ten times! The first five were difficult it, but the final five were absolutely killer! I had to shout, to keep my energy levels and I came close to being sick for the first time. But when we finished as we both stood there panting, sweating, with steam raising from our clothes and gasping for breath, I could feel a feel sense of satisfaction rising in my chest…. 
Part 3 The mental side of strongman and how you can benefit from it!!..

Coming tomorrow morning! 

2 thoughts on “Strongman 2- The tyre strikes back!!…

  1. That sounds “tiring”. 😀 Just looking at the weights makes me want to stay back already. 🙂 I love you didn’t just include the training alone. You also included camaraderie, breathing and form, and mind-over-matter concept. You definitely “raised the bar” on that one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

